Catholic Theological
Society of America

The John Courtney Murray Award

At the CTSA's annual convention, the Society honors one of its members for a lifetime of distinguished theological achievement through the conferral of the John Courtney Murray Award, named for one of its early Board members who was a major theologian in the American Catholic Church.  Nominations can be made by CTSA members each fall for the award to be given at the next convention.

James F. Keenan, S.J.

2019 John Courtney Murray Awardee

  • Award Text for 2019: James F. Keenan, S.J. (pdf file)

  • Award Text for 2018: M. Shawn Copeland (pdf file)

  • Award Text for 2017: Francis X. Clooney, S.J. (pdf file)

  • Award Text for 2016: Orlando O. Espin (pdf file)

  • Award Text for 2015: Joseph A. Komonchak (pdf file)

  • Award Text for 2014: John Pawlikowski (pdf file)

  • List of Recipients of the John Courtney Murray Award for Theology (pdf file)

  • List of Recipients of the Cardinal Spellman Award for Theology (pdf file)

Catherine Mowry LaCugna Award - No submissions are being accepted for 2021.

The Catholic Theological Society of America grants the Catherine Mowry LaCugna Award to new scholars for the best academic essay in the field of theology within the Roman Catholic tradition.

Antonio Eduardo Alonso

2019 Catherine Mowry LaCugna Awardee

  • Award for 2019: Antonio Eduardo Alonso
    Essay Title:  "Listening for the Cry: Certeau Beyond Strategies and Tactics"

  • Award for 2018: Elizabeth Antus
    Essay Title: "Was it Good for You"

  • Award for 2017: Judith Gruber
    Essay Title: "Revealing Subversions: Theology as Critical Theory"

  • Award for 2016: Benjamin Maurice Durheim and David Turnbloom
    Essay Title: "Tactical Ecumenism" 

  • Award for 2015: Nichole Marie Flores
    Essay Title: "Beyond Consumptive Solidarity: An Aesthetic Response to Modern Day Slavery"

  • Award for 2014: Michael Peppard
    Essay Title: "Paul Would Be Proud: The New Testament and Jewish-Gentile Respect"

  • Award Archives

Ann O'Hara Graff Memorial Award
Awarded by the Women's Consultation in Constructive Theology

The Ann O’Hara Graff award was established to honor the life and recognize the scholarly commitments of our late colleague Ann O’Hara Graff, whose insight and passion combined to weave theology constructively together with life outside the academy. 

Each year the Women’s Consultation in Constructive Theology invites members of the CTSA to nominate a woman member of the CTSA whose accomplishments include the various types of woman-defined scholarship, and liberating action on behalf of women in the church and/or the broader community.

Click here to for further details about the Ann O'Hara Graff Memorial Award and the nomination process.

Mary Rose D'Angelo

2019 Ann O'Hara Graff Memorial Awardee

Ann O'Hara Graff - Theologian, Educator, and Writer
Click here to learn more about Ann O'Hara Graff

  • 2019 Mary Rose D'Angelo
  • 2018 Nancy Pineda Madrid
  • 2017 Margaret Farley
  • 2016 Elizabeth Johnson
  • 2015 Patricia Beattie Jung
  • 2014 M. Shawn Copeland

©2019 Catholic Theological Society of America. All Rights Reserved.
Catholic Theological Society of America is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. 1 John Carroll Blvd., University Heights. OH 44118

CTSA Privacy Policy - GDPR Compliant

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software