Catholic Theological
Society of America

  • Home
  • Fall 2020 Panel

Teaching and Doing Theology in Real Time:
Summer, 2020, and Black Lives Matter

Tuesday, November 10th at 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. (EST)

4:00 - 5:30 p.m. (PST)       5:00 - 6:30 p.m. (MST)       6:00 - 7:30 p.m. (CST)

A CTSA-sponsored panel and conversation concerning the ways our theological thinking and teaching,
and our experiences and practices at our home institutions are (or are not) being interrupted  influenced,
or challenged by this summer’s nation-wide surge of public outcries, uprisings,
and demands for systemic redress to anti-black racism in the United States.

Moderator:

Jon M. Nilson, Professor Emeritus of Theology, Loyola University Chicago
                            Former CTSA President 
                            Presidential Address: "Confessions of a White Catholic Racist Theologian" (2003)

Panelists:




Jeannine Hill Fletcher
Professor, Systematic Theology
Fordham University
author of The Sin of White Supremacy




Craig A. Ford, Jr. 
Assistant Professor, Theological Ethics
St. Norbert College




Nancy Pineda-Madrid
T. Marie Chilton Chair of Catholic Theology
Loyola Marymount University


The event will encourage member participation and seeks to build bonds of collegial community.  Attending members will breakout into groups following the panelists' presentations to enable us to connect and converse in smaller groups about the subject matter presented.

On Wednesday, November 4, and on Tuesday, November 10,  a CTSA listserv announcement will be sent to all CTSA members highlighting this event.  In that email, a link to attend will be provided.  

Inquiries regarding this event, may be emailed to ctsaed@gmail.com.

©2019 Catholic Theological Society of America. All Rights Reserved.
Catholic Theological Society of America is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. 1 John Carroll Blvd., University Heights. OH 44118

CTSA Privacy Policy - GDPR Compliant


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software